Bitter

£8.99

It’s 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he’ll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn’t? As Gilda’s obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds’ home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

In stock

Description

‘A novel to detonate the heart. Fans of Gail Honeyman and Joanna Cannon will love Bitter‘ A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window
‘As gripping as Zoe Heller’s Notes on A Scandal’ Peter Bradshaw, Guardian Film Critic
‘Brilliantly paced, moving, thoughtful and sharp. Loved itRenée Knight, author of Disclaimer
‘An absolutely astonishing first novel’ Michael Frayn, author of Spies

It’s 1969, and while the summer of love lingers in London, Gilda is consumed by the mistakes of her past. She walked out on her beloved son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he will never forgive her. When Reuben marries Alice, he seems transformed by love – a love Gilda has craved his entire adult life. What does his new wife have that she doesn’t? And how far will she go to find out? It’s an obsession that will bring shocking truths about the past to light . . .

Additional information

Weight 0.281 kg
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.8 × 2.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

339

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Bitter

£8.99

In stock