Make Me A City

By Jonathan Carr

£9.99

It is 1800. On desolate, marshy ground between Lake Michigan and the Illinois River, a man builds a house and a city is born. This debut novel follows Chicago’s tumultuous first century, evoking how a city is made: by a succession of vivid, sometimes villainous individuals and their cumulative invention, energy and vision.

In stock

Description

A Times Book of the Month for readers of Golden Hill and Cloud Atlas.

It is 1800, and the future of Chicago hangs in the balance, to be decided on the outcome of a game of chess. Win or lose, the result will reverberate through the next 100 years of history, and the players’ lives, the lives of their descendants, and the city itself will never be the same again ?

Additional information

Weight 0.594 kg
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 3.034 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

512

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Me A City

£9.99

In stock